Benfica defeated Santa Clara to clinch the Portuguese title after four years of waiting

Benfica defeated Santa Clara to clinch the Portuguese title after four years of waiting

The Portuguese national team, with Verissimo, Gilberto, David Neres and Morato, defeated Santa Clara and relegated Porto to runners-up.

After a long wait of four years, Benfica is once again the king of Portuguese football. Like a true 2019 scenario, the title was decided on the last day, with a crushing 3-0 victory over Santa Clara, a team that had already suffered defeat against the Encarnados in their previous conquest. Goncalo Ramos, Rafaelva and Grimaldo scored the winning goals.

Read more:

++ Valencia sees the punishment reduced by the Spanish Federation after the acts of racism suffered by Vinicius

++ Brazil will play Guinea and Senegal in their friendlies in June

++ Joelinton responded to Newcastle’s qualification for the next European Champions League

With this glorious result, Benfica, the most successful club in the history of the Portuguese league with 38 titles, concludes this competition with 87 points, two points ahead of Porto, who also won their match against Vitoria de Setubal on Saturday.

Four Brazilians at the top

The victorious Benfica team, crowned Portuguese champions for the 2022/23 season, proudly includes four Brazilian players: defenders Lucas Verissimo, ex-Santos, and ex-Sao Paulo player Morato, as well as right-back Gilberto, who played for Fluminense, and striker David Neres, former Ajax prodigy.

See also  In Portugal, you can now take the train at will for €49

You May Also Like

About the Author: Germano Álvares

"Desbravador de cerveja apaixonado. Álcool alcoólico incurável. Geek de bacon. Viciado em web em geral."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *