With the entry of Croatia, which countries have adopted the single currency?

1Verse January 2023, the number of eurozone member states will increase to twenty. On Tuesday 12 July, the Council of the European Union adopted the latest legal procedures proving Croatia’s accession. Twenty member states are eight more than the twelve when the single currency was launched in 2002.

who are they ? We are evaluating our map.

Eurozone member states since 2002

At the launch of the euro, 1Verse January 2002, twelve European countries abandoned their currency against the European currency. These are Germany, Austria, Belgium, Spain, Finland, France, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands and Portugal.

The new members of the Eurozone

Over the years, the twelve member states have joined new ones: Slovenia (2007), Cyprus and Malta (2008), Slovakia (2009), Estonia (2011), Latvia (2014), Lithuania (2015) and soon Croatia (2023). With the latter, the population of the eurozone will reach nearly 350 million.

Note that four minute states (Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, and the Vatican) are also authorized to use the single currency.

Member states of the European Union but not of the Eurozone

They are eight member states of the European Union but not of the Eurozone: Bulgaria, Croatia, Denmark, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Sweden, and the Czech Republic. All in theory committed to joining once conditions were met, but no timeline has been set. The only exception is that Denmark negotiated an exemption after a referendum in 2000 in which Danes rejected the euro.

You May Also Like

About the Author: Irene Alves

"Bacon ninja. Guru do álcool. Explorador orgulhoso. Ávido entusiasta da cultura pop."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *